Questions

Things happen in life that we have no control over. It can be really good things or really bad things that occur in the span of our lives. But how we respond to these events in our lives is what really shows what your made of. Now don’t be mistaken, if bad things are always happening to you because of poor decisions on your part. Well then your asking for bad fortune. But the ultimate question is why do bad things happen to genuinely good people?

Prime example, my wife was involved in a car accident a couple weeks ago. Car was totally demolished but she came out with minor whiplash and a baby cut on her knuckle. A red lighter runner was the cause of this unfortunate event. All she was doing was making a legal left turn and out of no where a Dodge Ram came running right into the passenger side of her car going about 50mph. She miraculously didn’t have any injuries or the car didn’t flip considering how the truck hit her.

When I got the news that she was involved in a accident. I grabbed my son and the stroller and ran to the crash sight which was right around the corner from my house. His car seat was in her vehicle at the moment so I didn’t want to pull up with my 2 year old sitting without a car seat. I couldn’t feel any real emotions in the moment because I had to see her and make sure she was alive in front of me. Pulling up to the scene our car looked like the hulk punched half of it. I couldn’t believe she made it out alive at all. The hardest part was not having any family or friends to aid us with our son to so I could get her to the hospital.

I don’t know about any of you. But when there’s a life changing event that takes place in my life I start to question. My first question was why my wife? She’s the most cautious driver I know. Second question was, is it my fault this happen.Here’s my reasoning for these questions…..

I know accidents happen everyday but me being a dig deeper thinker I try to find a meaning behind everything that happens in my life. So the fact that this happen to my wife really shook me up. Because she is such a big hearted person. Anyone she encounters she treats everybody with so much respect. She loves god and practices her faith daily. She’s a great mom and the list goes on. She has no flaws. And maybe I’m not treating her as I should so god allowed this to happen to get my attention. Just a variety of “what if” and “how comes” came to my head when all this was happening.

After the accident it helped me to cherish every moment of life. In the blink of an eye your entire world can just fall apart on you. I started to envision my life without her and how I were to raise our son without her. But whatever the case maybe I trust God’s plan for my life. Also for my wife’s. He sparred her that day and I have a second chance to prove my love for her from this day on out. For the “what if’s” in life. I’ve concluded and made up my mind to live on gods word. That’s where my strength lies. I’ve tried to disregard god and tried to have it all figured it. But it was just so much stress that came from it. So I decided to fully put my trust in him no matter how ugly or how pretty things got in my life. He has sure taught me lessons about submitting my will to him. Now when I reflect on my life I see how far he has brought me.

Romans 9:20

But who are you, Oman, to answer back to God? Will what is molded say to its molder, “Why have you made me like this?”

Ive never experienced any close deaths or tragic accidents in my life. But with gods help he prepares my mind and heart for anything life may throw at me everyday.

Whenever I began to complain about my life or becoming ungrateful. I’m quickly reminded about gods blessing in my life. He has been faithful to me no matter how hard things have gotten in 25 years of life. He’s been right there for me in the darkest times. Because of that I can’t even doubt his ways because he is good. At the end of the day he loves me and cares for my every need. My soul knows and feels it. That is why I’ve chosen to walk with god till my time is up. I encourage you to do the same. He loves you beyond words can express. He wants you to get to know him so that you to can live without fear of the future because you know it’s in his hands.

For my thoughts are not your thoughts,

    neither are your ways my ways,”

declares the Lord.

“As the heavens are higher than the earth,

    so are my ways higher than your ways

    and my thoughts than your thoughts-

Isaiah 55:8-9

Author: John Apodaca

Thoughts from the balcony...

Leave a comment